This week has been productive, even though most of my progress has been abstract.  First, I made contact with Dave Krut, the main contact for altar server training for the parish.  He will be my primary subject matter expert.  In addition, I spoke with the mother of two altar servers; she will check with them to see if they are interested in contributing as secondary SMEs and/or actors for the photos or video, depending on what we determine will be needed.  I hope to meet this Friday, perfect timing since tomorrow we will participate in a workshop on interactions with clients.  My goal is to gather the information needed for the goals, objectives, and content and learner analyses required for next week.

In addition to making contact with my client, I also did a fair amount of research to identify an effective instructional model for this project.  I am particularly interested in the DODDEL model (McMahon, 2009b) since it addresses the entire development lifecycle and is specifically targeted for novice instructional designers and serious games.  In order to determine whether this is the best fit for my project, I need more detailed information describing the model.  I have arranged to get a library copy of the book containing a chapter on the DODDEL model (McMahon, 2009a) when I come to the studio tomorrow which should help tremendously.

I also did a small amount of research on epistemic games to see how this paradigm might fit into my model and guide me in the development process.  This type of game helps learners feel as if they are professionals in the field they are studying.  I am not quite certain whether service in a Catholic Mass might qualify as a profession; perhaps it can be likened to the profession of the priesthood.  I am drawn by Shaffer’s conclusion that these types of games “make it possible for students to learn through participation in authentic recreations of valued reflective practices.” (2005).

References:

McMahon, M. (2009a).  The DODDEL Model:  A Flexible Document-Oriented Model for the Design of Serious Games. In T. Connolly, et. al. (Eds.), in Games-based learning advancements for multi-sensory human computer interfaces:  techniques and effective practices (pp. 98-118). Hershey, PA: Information Science Reference.

McMahon, M. (2009b). Using the DODDEL model to teach serious game design to novice designers. In Same places, different spaces. Proceedings ascilite Auckland 2009. http://www.ascilite.org.au/conferences/auckland09/procs/mcmahon.pdf (accessed January 27, 2013).

Schaffer, D. 2005.  Epistemic Games. Innovate 1 (6). http://www.innovateonline.info/pdf/vol1_issue6/Epistemic_Games.pdf (accessed January 27, 2013).

