1.  List the tasks you’ve been working on this week.

This has been a very productive week for my project.  I was able to have my first meeting with two SMEs:  Dave, the trainer and person in charge of the altar server ministry at the parish, and Thomas D., one of the senior servers.  The project continues to take shape.  We have planned for our next meeting February 7 to walk through the altar server movements and responsibilities during Mass and to take some preliminary pictures.  They were both enthusiastic about the project and my ideas.  I was particularly pleased that we were able to whittle the material down to keep it from getting too large and complex for a semester project.

In addition to my meeting I also developed a framework on my blog to store the documents for the project.  I chose to use my WordPress page so I could easily share information with the client for review and eventual sign-off.  Along the way I picked up some new WordPress skills which was a nice side effect.

2.  Consider the progress you have made this week.  Think about concepts, issues, and difficulties you have encountered as well as any decisions you made during the project.  Mark “X” on the items below that you reflected upon.

  • Insufficient or inapplicable knowledge of skills
  • Related prior experience
  • Feelings
  • Attitudes
  • Taken-for-granted beliefs and personal values
  • Goals, Criteria, and Constraints of the project – X
  • Client/stakeholders/users – X
  • Implementation Context
  • Available Time – X
  • Available Resources/Budget
  • Teamwork Dynamic – X

3.  For each item you checked above, describe any difficulties or concerns you encountered, the actions you took to deal with them, and your future plans in this particular area.

Goals, Criteria, and Constraints of the project

I spent quite a bit of time this week writing goals, learner objectives, a profile of my learners, and an instructional content/task analysis.  The task analysis is particularly difficult for me at this point since I am not aware of many of the facets of altar serving for my parish.  I sent the overall outline I created to Dave, my primary SME, for his input and will make any necessary adjustments using his feedback.

We made an important decision during our first meeting.  The parish really needs training for three scenarios:  a refresher for candle bearers to supplement the face-to-face session, training for candle bearers to transition to senior servers, and thurifer training.  We decided to focus at this time on the transition from candle bearer to senior server.

Client/stakeholder/users

My client is really the St. Vincent de Paul parish.  The main decision-maker is Debbie, but I am working more with Dave, my primary SME.  I must keep in the back of my mind that behind Debbie, Fr. Adrian, the parish priest, is the final decision-maker.

I originally recruited Thomas D. as my secondary SME.  I arranged a meeting with Dave, Thomas D., and his younger brother Will to take some photographs and walk through the Mass together.  I realized, though, that I would need more than two altar servers so I invited Tom B. and Joe B. to join us as well.

Available Time

I am slightly concerned that Debbie will be less available for decisions and input once Lent arrives.  Unfortunately, it starts rather early this year.  I am also aware that Dave is a basketball coach and this is basketball season so I will need to be sensitive to his schedule as well.

Teamwork Dynamic

I was pleased with the tone of our first meeting.  We brainstormed and I presented some visuals with my ideas; Dave and Thomas D. were enthusiastic about every aspect.  Clearly there is still much work to be done, but everyone has shown a willingness and availability to bring this project to fruition.

4.  Other thoughts about your project or any help you need.

I am suffering from project amnesia.  It’s hard for me to realize that this early in the  fall semester I was only just beginning my project in order to get a sense for how much time remains to complete the work.  I appreciate any prompts for where we should be in a given week so I can stay on track.  I am pretty certain I’m progressing well, though.  I’m slightly surprised by my relief after my decision to use Captivate for this project.  I realize there is a lot I can still learn about Captivate and I now have time to explore the idea of interactivity in a game or simulation form.

