Here we go – the last semester of my last formal educational journey.  I can’t believe only a year ago I had no idea how to take the white out of an image; I used to cling to Gimp since I couldn’t figure out how to use Photoshop!

As I complete this last semester in the IDD program, I will be serving as an intern for Home Care Institute, an educational business for the home care and hospice industry.  Given the option of developing a learning module for leadership or customer service, I chose customer service.  This project will provide access to Articulate as a design and development tool as well as the guidance and resources from an experienced team of instructional designers.  I had hoped to meet with the president today, but she had a scheduling conflict so we will meet this week via phone and then in person next week.  By then I should be able to start thinking through the details of my project.

In my opener for this semester’s design blog it looks like I’ve identified myself as a media-centric designer.  I certainly am looking forward to learning to use Articulate.  It has become quite obvious that Moggridge (2007) was right on target when he talked about the tacit knowledge used in instructional design.  The studio is just the place to learn by doing, especially when it comes to the use of software tools.  Even though I love the studio and I’ve learned so much from my projects, I do regret just a bit that I’ve tended to jump right into them without some of the more common strategies such as storyboarding.  I hope to incorporate that type of analysis into my development process this semester.  I do feel I worked more on message delivery and strategy for my Spring Altar Server Training studio project.  I consciously built in branching and user-driven feedback and a more in-depth assessment strategy, but I feel I have a long way to go.  I am confident in my proficiency in developing effective instruction face to face, but I believe it will take experience to expand this ability to the creation of effective technology-driven instruction (Gibbons, 2003).

Gibbons, Nelson, and Richards (2000) discussed the goals of adaptivity, generativity, and scalability to promote the individualization of instruction that best simulates one-on-one instruction.  Much the same as in a lecture class, the simple presentation of information is the simplest, but not typically the most effective approach to instruction.  I hope to develop an instructional program that includes these goals to branch both the instruction and the feedback based upon learner input.

References:

Gibbons, A. S. (2003). What and how do designers design? TechTrends, 47(5), 22-25.

Gibbons, A. S., Nelson, J. & Richards, R. (2000). The nature and origin of instructional objects. In D. A. Wiley (Ed.), The Instructional Use of Learning Objects: Online Version. Retrieved August 6, 2011 from the World Wide Web:http://reusability.org/read/chapters/gibbons.doc

Moggridge, B. (2007). Designing interactions. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.

